The Golden Calf


They have turned aside quickly out of the way which I commanded them: they have made them a molten calf, and have worshipped it, and have sacrificed thereunto, and said, These be thy gods, O Israel, which have brought thee up out of the land of Egypt. (Exodus 32:8)

When I hear the way people slobber over some Christians, I think about this verse. I thank God that the teachers I listen to are often ignored, hated, or otherwise not approved of. It lets me know that either I’m way off base, or they are.

I like Kent Hovind. But as I’ve stated elsewhere, the man has never met a conspiracy theory he’s disliked.

I like David Cloud. I don’t agree with EVERYTHING he says. When you agree with something some MAN says, that’s a warning sign.

But when people bow down and offer incense to Billy Graham, that seems to be okay.

“Anyone who makes a decision at our meetings is seen later and referred to a local clergyman, Protestant, Catholic, or Jewish.” — Billy Graham, San Francisco News, 1957

It blows my mind that this quote made the news in 1957… and speaking engagements weren’t immediately cancelled. People knew a lot more about Christianity and the Bible in those days. It should have caused the Southern Baptist Convention to pause, and immediately re-evaluate their support of Billy Graham.

“He [Willis Haymaker, Graham’s front man] would also call on the local Catholic bishop or other clerics to acquaint them with Crusade plans and invite them to the meetings; they would usually appoint a priest to attend and report back. This was years before Vatican II’s openness to Protestants…” — Billy Graham, Just as I am.

Or pretended openness… Any way you look at this, this is an extremely questionable practice!

Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them which cause divisions and offences contrary to the doctrine which ye have learned; and avoid them. For they that are such serve not our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly; and by good words and fair speeches deceive the hearts of the simple. (Romans 16:17-18)

The Bible teaches us to mark and avoid any which hold to any teachings which are contrary to the Doctrines of the Bible. The Roman Catholic Church is most definitely one of these.

I do believe that something happens at the baptism of an infant, particularly if the parents are Christians and teach their children Christian Truths from childhood. We cannot fully understand the miracles of God, but I believe that a miracle can happen in these children so that they are regenerated, that is, made Christian, through infant baptism. If you want to call that baptismal regeneration, that’s all right with me” — Billy Graham, The Lutheran Standard, Oct. 10, 1961

Why do we continue to bow to this man, and speak of his greatness?

If it was anyone else turning over people wanting eternal life to Catholics and Jewish Rabbis, would we support them so blindly?

If anyone else spoke in favor of infant baptism and baptismal regeneration, would we support them?

Or would we, in love, explain they were in error and needed doctrinal help? And if they refused… would we call them a heretic?

The information here comes from the David Cloud free E-Book, “Billy Graham’s Sad Disobedience.”

Author: philipdean2013

Seminary graduate with a Ba. in Theology/Pastoral Studies, Happily married, Independent Baptist. I can't keep silent about what I see going on in Christianity any longer! Apostasy reigns around us, churches are sliding into worldiness, a whitewashed Gospel is preached everywhere... "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV) So, I'm speaking out. ...Why aren't you???